Back to All Events

Masterworks IV. Concerto for Orchestra

  • The Orpheum Theatre 57 South Kellogg Street Galesburg, IL, 61401 United States (map)

Mozart:      Violin Concert No. 2 in D Major

Janis Sakai, Violin

Bartók:      Concerto for Orchestra

Our fourth and final Masterworks concert features the string section as prominently as the woodwinds were featured in our second concert. The program, “Concerto for Orchestra,” will open with our own concertmaster Janis Sakai playing the solo for Mozart’s Violin Concerto in D major. The KGS is thrilled to be featuring our own musicians so much this season. The final piece of our 2019-2020 Masterworks Season is Bartok’s “Concerto for Orchestra.” In this concerto, the string section takes a role usually reserved for solo instrument, and the rest of the Symphony becomes their accompanist. This clever variation on the typical concerto format is a beloved and entertaining standard in the classical canon, ending our Masterworks Season with a bang.

Individual tickets on sale starting September 16, 2019.


Main Floor/Balcony- $20

Mezzanine- $30

Box (limited availability)- $40

Students with ID and anyone aged 18 or below- $5

Knox students with ID- Free

Earlier Event: February 22
Masterworks III. Fate of the Furious