Masterworks 1

"America the Beautiful"

October 20, 2018

Christopher Stanichar, guest conductor


Copland: An Outdoor Overture

Dvořák:  Cello Concerto in B minor, op. 104

Anthony Arnone, cello

Grofé:    Grand Canyon Suite

"America, the Beautiful"

The rugged, majestic and startling vastness of our American landscape has inspired some of the greatest American composers.  The KGS will take you on a tour of these exhilarating musical vistas without roughing it overnight!  We begin with An Outdoor Overture by Aaron Copland, a composer who defined the American symphonic sound for the ages.   Cellist, Anthony Arnone, professor at the University of Iowa, will join us for Dvořák’s Cello Concerto inspired by Dvořák’s summer visits to Spillville, Iowa.   Finally, KGS will play Ferde Grofé’s Grand Canyon Suite.  Grofé describes the first time he saw the National Park:  "…because we got there the night before and camped. I was spellbound in the silence, because as it got lighter and brighter, you could hear the birds chirping and nature coming to life. All of a sudden, bingo! There it was, the sun. I couldn't hardly describe it in words because words would be inadequate."  KGS will play Grofé’s musical depiction of the painted-desert, plodding mules, and impressive scenery, including a slideshow that will accompany this performance.  This KGS concert will have you humming a tune and appreciating the sounds that the great American outdoors has inspired!

Christopher Stanichar 1.jpg